Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Our Team

 

University of Oxford

Cassandra Adams Translational Scientist, CMD
Paul Brennan PI, Medicinal Chemistry, CMD
Charlotte Deane PI, Department of Statistics
Brian Marsden PI, Research Informatics, CMD
Alejo Nevado-Holgado PI, Department of Psychiatry
Cornelia van Duijn PI, Nuffield Dept of Population Health
Wyatt Yue PI, Metabolic and Rare Diseases, CMD

 

King Abdulaziz University

Dr Hani Choudhry hchoudhry@kau.edu.sa
Dr Ashwag Albukhari aalbukhari@kau.edu.sa
Dr Wesam Hussein Abdulaal whabdulaal@kau.edu.sa
Dr Majid Almansouri malmansouri@kau.edu.sa
Dr Hisham Altayeb hdemmahom@kau.edu.sa
Dr Diena Mohammedallam Almasri dalmasri@kau.edu.sa
Dr Abdelsattar Mansour Ebeid Omar asmansour@kau.edu.sa
Dr Mohammad Imran Khan mikhan@kau.edu.sa
Dr Majed Felemban maafelemban1@kau.edu.sa
Dr Mazin Abdulaziz Zamzami mzamzami@kau.edu.sa
Dr Mahmoud Alhosin malhaseen@kau.edu.sa
Dr Mahmoud Ragab mragab@kau.edu.sa
Dr Salman Bakr Hosawi shosawi@kau.edu.sa
Dr Haneen Reda Banjar hrbanjar@kau.edu.sa
Dr Amer Assiri ahasseri@kau.edu.sa
Dr Mahmoud Abdelkhalek Elfaky melfaky@kau.edu.sa
Dr Fatemah Omar Kamel foakamel@kau.edu.sa
Dr Faisal A Alzahrani faahalzahrani@kau.edu.sa
Dr Moustafa E. El-Araby madaoud@kau.edu.sa
Dr Nofe Ateq Alganmi nalghanimi@kau.edu.sa
Dr Aliaa Amr Alamoudi aaalamoudi2@kau.edu.sa
Dr Mustafa Adnan Zeyadi mzyadi@kau.edu.sa
Dr Ehab Atif Abozinadah eabozinadah@kau.edu.sa
Dr Othman A. Baothman oabaothman@kau.edu.sa
Dr Khalidah Khalid Nasser kknasser@kau.edu.sa
Mr. Samer Mohammed Alamoudi smsalamoudi@kau.edu.sa

Our Workflow

WP1: Clinical landscape in KSA

Lead: Dr Hani Choudhry

Key Activities: Identifying, collating and assessing PROMS and EHR from patients in KSA, as well as other datasets

Milestone: Clinical survey report of the disease landscape in KSA

WP2: Artificial Intelligence in novel target discovery

Leads: Prof Alejo Nevado-Holgado and Prof Cornelia van Duijn

Key Activities: Apply AI to genomic, transcriptomic and proteomic profiles of KSA patients to nominate targets. Validate targets with EHRs epidemiology

Milestone: Identification and validation of novel drug targets

WP3: Target biological characterisation

Lead: Prof Wyatt Yue

Key Activities: Investigation of pathways and mechanisms of identified genetic driver of disease using biochemical, structural and cellular approaches.

Milestone: Characterisation of biology of novel targets and creation of assays

WP4: Drug design and discovery

Lead: Prof Paul Brennan

Key Activities: Chemical tool compound design to be guided by pharmacophoric information, computational chemistry and knowledge of metabolic liabilities.

Milestone: Identification of potential binding locations

WP5: AI methodology for drug design

Lead: Prof. Brian Marsden and Prof. Charlotte Deane

Key Activities: Utilizing machine learning, structural bioinformatics and artificial intelligence, plus natural language processing (NLP) holds the promise of highly optimised and efficient novel drug design

Target Milestone: AI-led optimisation of novel drug design